In order to edit your geometric network in an ArcSDE geodatabase, it must first be registered as versioned. Once versioned, there are some changes that are allowed on the geometric network:
- Add a new, empty network feature class. After being added, the feature class will be registered as versioned.
- Add a new weight.
- Add, delete, or modify connectivity rules.
The geodatabase uses an optimistic concurrent approach during editing in an ArcSDE geodatabase; no locks are applied when features and objects are being edited. A number of editors can simultaneously edit a geometric network independent of each other. This means that editors can edit the same feature at the same time. This workflow introduces the potential for conflicts. This can occur when:
- Two editors are editing the same data in the same version at the same time.
- The same feature is modified in two different versions.