Any join that you create in ArcMap is saved with the layer in the map document. This way, if you close and reopen the map document, you do not have to re-create the join. Attribute joins are not permanent, so you can create and remove them whenever you like. If you want to create a permanently joined layer, you will need to export the joined layer to a new feature class.
To view, add, or remove joins from a layer or table, follow these steps:
- Right-click a layer or table in the table of contents and click Properties.
- Click the Joins & Relates tab.
All the joins for the layer or table are listed on the left side of the dialog box.