The Overwrite the active diagram option works on network features that remain highlighted in one of the map document's data frames after a geometric network tracing or selection operation. It allows you to overwrite the entire active diagram content from the input network features highlighted in the map. Updating a diagram using this option is similar to regenerating it from a new set of network features that are highlighted after a selection or geometric network tracing operation. The only difference concerns the geometry of the schematic features in the diagram after the update: if the diagram has been laid out and saved, the schematic features contained in the diagram before the update that are associated with network features currently highlighted in the map keep their saved geometry after the update.
After checking the Overwrite the active diagram option, you need to specify which input network data you want to be used to overwrite your schematic diagram. Two types of input can be used:
- A set of network features currently selected in a data frame
- The result of a geometric network tracing operation in memory
- The schematic features contained in the diagram that don't come from custom queries are loaded in memory.
- The current set of network features highlighted in the map is analyzed, and the builder operates as follows:
- The schematic features initially contained in the diagram that are associated with highlighted network features in the map are updated; their attributes and initial geometry are refreshed, and their current geometry is reinitialized if the diagram was not saved.
- New schematic features coming from new network features highlighted in the map are created in memory. Their attributes are evaluated, and their topology and geometry are initialized.
- The schematic features initially contained in the diagram that are no longer associated with network features highlighted in the map are removed from the memory.
- Then, if schematic rules are specified for the related diagram template, they are executed on all the in-memory schematic features.
- If the Persist manually removed, reduced or reconnected features check box is checked, the removal, reduction, and reconnecting operations are reexecuted.
- If there is a default schematic layout algorithm configured for the diagram template and the diagram has no saved layout, the algorithm is reexecuted, and the geometry for all the in-memory schematic features is updated accordingly.
- All the schematic features in memory are saved in the schematic feature classes in the schematic dataset.
- The active schematic diagram is then refreshed with the new schematic dataset content.