The Delete Version tool deletes the specified version from the input enterprise, workgroup, or desktop geodatabase.
Only the version's owner can delete the version.
A parent version cannot be deleted until all dependent child versions are deleted.
Versions are not affected by changes occurring in other versions of the geodatabase.
- Versioning tools only work with enterprise, workgroup, and desktop geodatabase data. Personal and file geodatabases do not support versioning.
DeleteVersion_management (in_workspace, version_name)
Provide the database connection file to the enterprise, workgroup, or desktop geodatabase containing the version to be deleted. The default is to use the workspace defined in the Current Workspace environment.
Specify the name of the version to be deleted.
DeleteVersion example (stand-alone script)
The following stand-alone script demonstrates how use the DeleteVersion tool to delete a version.
# Name: DeleteVersion_Example.py # Description: Deletes a version # Import system modules import arcpy # Set local variables inWorkspace = "c:/Connectionsfirstname.lastname@example.org" versionName = "myVersion2" # Execute DeleteVersion arcpy.DeleteVersion_management(inWorkspace, versionName)
- ArcGIS for Desktop Basic: No
- ArcGIS for Desktop Standard: Yes
- ArcGIS for Desktop Advanced: Yes